Top News
Check latest news Read →

SBP announces five-day working week for banks

SBP announces five-day working week for banks

In accordance with the federal government directive, the State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) announced on 23rd April to observe two weekly holidays to help the government surmount the ongoing energy crisis. “All bank, DFIs and exchange companies will also comply with the central bank’s directive and will observe two holidays in a week,” stated Syed Wasimuddin, chief spokesman, SBP. “As per notification, the State Bank, SBP banking services corporation, all banks and DFIs will be closed on Saturday (today),” he added.

The  BPRD Circular Letter No 08 of 2010, sent to all Presidents/Chief Executives of all Banks/DFIs, stated: “As per decision of the Federal Government, vide Notification No 2/3/2010-Public dated April 23, 2010, the State Bank and all offices of SBP banking services corporation including public debt offices will observe five-day working week. Accordingly, all offices of SBP will remain closed on Saturdays and Sundays.”

The SBP also announced new office timings for all offices including SBP Banking Services Corporation, which will be observed with immediate effect till further orders. The new timings are: Monday to Thursday SBP will work frim 9 am to 5.30 pm (with lunch/prayer break from 1.30 pm to 2.15 pm). On Friday SBP will observe working from 9 am to 6.00 pm (with lunch/prayer break from 1 pm to 2.30 pm).

All offices of SBP Banking Services Corporation will work from 9 am to 1:30 pm from Monday to Thursday and from 9 am to 1 pm on Friday.

Leave A Reply